ALASKA COURT SYSTEM
OFFICE OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR
ADMINISTRATIVE BULLETIN NO. 82
(AMENDED August 18, 2016)

TO: ALL HOLDERS OF ADMINISTRATIVE BULLETIN SETS:

All Justices Senior Staff

All Judges Administrative Associate

Area Court Administrators Rural Court Analyst

Clerk of the Appellate Courts Central Services Manager
Rural Court Training Assistants Judicial Services

All Full-Time Clerks of Court APD Warrants

All Magistrate Judges Interpreter Service Coordinator

Law Libraries at Anchorage, Barrow, Bethel, Dillingham, Fairbanks, Homer,
Juneau, Kenai, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Kotzebue, Nome, Palmer, Petersburg, Sitka,
Valdez and Wrangell

SUBJECT: Interpreter Fees

The Interpreter Services Coordinator manages the scheduling and payment of
interpreters for the Alaska Court System (ACS). Interpreter payment rates for spoken
and sign language interpreters are provided below and are maximum compensation
rates. These rates may not be exceeded except in extenuating circumstances and with

the approval of the Administrative Director or designee.

ACS pays interpreters provided under Administrative Rule 6 and 6.1 at the following
rates depending on interpreter qualifications:

I. Spoken Language Interpreters (Administrative Rule 6).

A. Freelance Interpreter! (in-person, telephonic, or video remote)

CATEGORY Hourly Rate

Court Certified The interpreter’s hourly rate but no
Passed a National Center for State Courts Oral Proficiency Exam | more than $60.00 per hour.

and completed all other mandatory requirements determined by the
Alaska Court System.

Professionally Qualified The interpreter’s hourly rate but no
Passed the National Center for State Courts written exam, an Oral | more than $40.00 per hour.
Proficiency Inventory (OPI) at a score of 12 or Superior, and all other
mandatory requirements determined by the Alaska Court System.

1 A “freelance Interpreter” is an individual interpreter with whom the Alaska Court System enters into a contract for
interpreter services.
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Language Skilled The interpreter’s hourly rate but no
A bilingual person who demonstrates a minimum ability to interpret in | more than $20.00 per hour.
an emergency and until a more qualified interpreter is available.

B. Vendors? Providing Professional Spoken Language Interpretation (in-person,
telephonic, and video remote)

1. For vendors providing spoken language interpreting services, the court
pays interpreter fees negotiated with that service provider.

Il. Sign Language Interpreters (Administrative Rule 6.1)

A. Freelance Interpreters (in-person or video remote)

CATEGORY Hourly Rate
(Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf—RID?)

Special Certificate: Legal (SC:L) Hearing The interpreter’s hourly rate

Conditional Legal Interpreting Permit-Relay (CLIP-R) Deaf | but no more than $80.00
per hour.

Generalist RID Certifications: The interpreter’s hourly rate

NIC; CSC; CI/CT; NAD IV or V (Hearing) but no more than $65.00

CDI (Deaf) per hour.

B. Vendors Providing Professional Sign Language Interpretation (in-person or
video remote interpreting)

1. For vendors providing professional sign language interpreting services,
the court pays interpreter fees negotiated with that service provider.

lll. General Provisions for Freelance Interpreters and Vendors Providing
Interpretation Services

A. Standby Time

1. For standby time, during which the court requires the interpreter to be
present at the court proceeding but is not interpreting, ACS pays $25 per
hour or the fee charged by the interpreter or vendor, whichever is less.

2 A “vendor” is a service provider that recruits, trains, schedules and manages the invoicing and payment of
Erofessional interpreters.

RID certification requires ASL interpreters to have minimum education of a bachelor’s degree, testing of ASL
proficiency and annual continuing education to maintain national certification and membership in RID.
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Dated:

B. Travel Time

1.

For travel time between the interpreter’s regular place of business and an
out-of-town court, ACS pays $25 or the fee charged by the interpreter,
whichever is less, and no more than $300.00 per day. ACS calculates
travel time and pays travel expenses (air fare, ground transportation,
travel time, lodging, and per diem) according to the rules that apply to
court employees.

C. Cancellation Policy

1.

If ACS gives notice of cancellation 24 hours or more from the start time of
the interpreting assignment, no compensation will be paid. Saturdays,
Sundays and holidays are not included in the 24 hours’ notice calculation.

If ACS gives freelance interpreters notice of cancellation less than 24
hours from the start time of the interpreting assignment, ACS will pay one-
half of the fees for time scheduled. Payment for cancellation time may be
reduced equal to any replacement work that the interpreter is able to find
elsewhere during the time for which cancellation is paid.

If ACS gives a vendor notice of cancellation less than 24 hours from the
start time of the interpreting assignment, ACS will pay the cancellation fee
specified in the vendor agreement.

In extenuating circumstances, exceptions to the cancellation policy may

be warranted. The Administrative Director or designee must approve any
exception.

Auqust 18, 2016 /s/

Christine E. Johnson
Administrative Director

Original bulletin was issued July 1, 2013. It was amended April 23, 2014 and August 18, 2016.



