## ALASKA COURT SYSTEM OFFICE OF THE ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTOR ADMINISTRATIVE BULLETIN NO. 82 (Revised April 18, 2022)

## TO: ALL HOLDERS OF ADMINISTRATIVE BULLETIN SETS:

All Justices
All Judges
Area Court Administrators
Clerk of the Appellate Courts
Senior Staff
Central Services
Judicial Services
APD Warrants

**Rural Court Administrators** 

All Clerks of Court All Magistrate Judges

Law Libraries at Anchorage, Fairbanks & Juneau

SUBJECT: Interpreter Fees

The Interpreter Services Coordinator manages the scheduling and payment of interpreters for the Alaska Court System (ACS). Interpreter payment rates for spoken and sign language interpreters are provided below and are maximum compensation rates. These rates may not be exceeded except in extenuating circumstances and with the approval of the Administrative Director or designee.

ACS pays interpreters provided under Administrative Rule 6 and 6.1 at the following rates depending on interpreter qualifications:

- I. Spoken Language Interpreters (Administrative Rule 6).
  - A. Freelance Interpreter<sup>1</sup> (in-person, telephonic, or video remote)

CATEGORY	Hourly Rate
Court Certified	The interpreter's hourly rate
Passed a National Center for State Courts Oral Proficiency	but no more than \$65.00 per
Exam and completed all other mandatory requirements	hour with a 2 hour minimum.
determined by the Alaska Court System.	
Professionally Qualified	The interpreter's hourly rate
Passed the National Center for State Courts written exam, an	but no more than \$45.00 per
Oral Proficiency Inventory (OPI) at a score of 12 or Superior,	hour with a 2 hour minimum.
and all other mandatory requirements determined by the Alaska	
Court System.	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> A "freelance Interpreter" is an *individual* interpreter with whom the Alaska Court System enters into a contract for interpreter services.

Language Skilled	The interpreter's hourly rate
A bilingual person who demonstrates a minimum ability to	but no more than \$25.00 per
interpret in an emergency and until a more qualified interpreter	hour with a 2 hour minimum.
is available.	

- B. Vendors<sup>2</sup> Providing Professional Spoken Language Interpretation (in-person, telephonic, and video remote)
  - 1. For vendors providing spoken language interpreting services, the court pays interpreter fees negotiated with that service provider.
- II. Sign Language Interpreters (Administrative Rule 6.1)
  - A. Freelance Interpreters (in-person or video remote)

CATEGORY Hourly Rate	
(Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf—RID <sup>3</sup> )	-
Special Certificate: Legal (SC:L) Hearing	The interpreter's hourly
Conditional Legal Interpreting Permit-Relay (CLIP-R)	rate but no more than
Deaf	\$80.00 per hour.
Generalist RID Certifications:	The interpreter's hourly
NIC; CSC; CI/CT; NAD IV or V (Hearing)	rate but no more than
CDI (Deaf)	\$65.00 per hour.

- B. Vendors Providing Professional Sign Language Interpretation (in-person or video remote interpreting)
  - 1. For vendors providing professional sign language interpreting services, the court pays interpreter fees negotiated with that service provider.
- III. General Provisions for Freelance Interpreters and Vendors Providing Interpretation Services

## A. Travel Time

 For travel time between the interpreter's regular place of business and an out-of-town court, ACS pays \$25 per hour or the fee charged by the interpreter, whichever is less, and no more than \$300.00 per day. ACS calculates travel time and pays travel expenses (air fare, ground transportation, travel time, lodging, and per diem) according to the rules that apply to court employees.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> A "vendor" is a service provider that recruits, trains, schedules and manages the invoicing and payment of professional interpreters.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> RID certification requires ASL interpreters to have minimum education of a bachelor's degree, testing of ASL proficiency and annual continuing education to maintain national certification and membership in RID.

## B. Cancellation Policy

- If ACS gives notice of cancellation 24 hours or more from the start time of the interpreting assignment, no compensation will be paid. Saturdays, Sundays and holidays are not included in the 24 hours' notice calculation.
- 2. For hearings scheduled to be completed during 1 calendar day, if ACS gives a freelance interpreter notice of cancellation less than 24 hours from the start time of the interpreting assignment, ACS will pay the fees for the time scheduled, with a minimum of 2 hours.
- 3. For hearings scheduled to be span more than 1 calendar day, if ACS gives a freelance interpreter notice of cancellation less than 24 hours from the start time of the interpreting assignment, ACS will pay the fee for time scheduled the first day. If the trial ends earlier than scheduled, ACS will pay for the days the interpreter services were provided prior to the trial ending, plus the fee for the time scheduled the next day, if less than 24 hours' notice was given.
- 4. If ACS gives a vendor notice of cancellation less than 24 hours from the start time of the interpreting assignment, ACS will pay the cancellation fee specified in the vendor agreement.
- 5. In extenuating circumstances, exceptions to the cancellation policy may be warranted. The Administrative Director or designee must approve any exception.

Dated: <u>April 18, 2022</u>	/s/
	Stacey Marz
	Administrative Director

Original bulletin was issued July 1, 2013. It was amended April 23, 2014; revised August 18, 2016; revised April 18, 2022.