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_______________________, the defendant in this case, has been charged with the crime of being under 21 years old and unlawfully entering or remaining in a licensed premises.
To prove that the defendant committed this crime, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following elements:

(1) the defendant was under 21 years of age at the time of the incident; and
(2) the defendant knowingly entered or remained in licensed premises. 
USE NOTE
The following terms are defined in other instructions: 

"knowingly" –  11.81.900(a)(2)

"licensed premises" –  04.21.080(b)

Alaska Statute 04.21.080(a)(2) contains a definition of "knowingly" which is essentially identical to that contained in AS 11.81.900(a)(2). Accordingly, the pattern instruction for AS 11.81.900(a)(2) should be used.

Alaska Statute 04.16.049 contains six circumstances when a minor may lawfully enter or remain on licensed premises (three are set out in AS 04.16.049(a)(1)-(3), and three are in AS 04.16.049(c), (d) and (f)).  Instructions on these "exceptions" are only necessary if the defendant raises the issue and some evidence supports it. Trout v. State, 866 P.2d 1323, 1325 (Alaska App. 1994). Trout did not decide which party should bear the burden of proof on these exceptions.

