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_____________________, the defendant in this case, has been charged with the crime of furnishing an alcoholic beverage to persons under the age of 21 by a licensee. To prove that the defendant committed this crime, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following elements:
(1) the defendant is a licensee or an agent or employee of a licensee;

(2) the defendant acted with criminal negligence; and
(3) [the defendant allowed another person to sell, barter, or give an alcoholic beverage to a person under the age of 21 within licensed premises] [the defendant allowed a person under the age of 21 to enter and remain within licensed premises] [the defendant allowed a person under the age of 21 to consume an alcoholic beverage within licensed premises] [the defendant allowed a person under the age of 21 years to sell or serve alcoholic beverages in licensed premises] [the defendant, while working on licensed premises, furnished or delivered alcoholic beverages to a person under the age of 21].
USE NOTE
The following terms are defined in other instructions: 


"criminal negligence" – 11.81.900(a)(4)

"licensed premises" – 04.21.080(b)(12)

"licensee" – 04.21.080
The definition of "criminal negligence" in AS 04.21.080(a)(1) is identical to the definition in AS 11.81.900(a)(4). Accordingly, the pattern instruction for AS 11.81.900(a)(4) should be used.

Alaska Statute 04.16.052(2) defines this crime to include allowing a person under the age of 21 years to enter and remain within licensed premises "except as provided in AS 04.16.049."  Alaska Statute 04.16.049 includes six circumstances when a minor may lawfully enter on licensed premises.  Instructions on these "exceptions" are only necessary if the defendant raises the issue and the evidence supports it. Trout v. State, 866 P.2d 1323, 1325 (Alaska App. 1994).  Trout did not decide which party should bear the burden of proof on these exceptions.

