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, the defendant in this case, has been charged with the crime of assault in the third degree.
To prove that the defendant committed this crime, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt the following:
(1)
the defendant caused physical injury to another person; and
[(2)
the defendant caused the injury recklessly.]
[(2)
the defendant caused the injury with criminal negligence; and

(3)
the defendant caused the injury by means of a dangerous instrument.]
USE NOTE

The following terms are defined in other instructions:

"criminal negligence" – 11.81.900(a)


"dangerous instrument" – 11.81.900(b)


“physical injury” – 11.81.900(b)
“recklessly” – 11.81.900(a)

Alaska Statute 11.41.230(a)(5) provides that a person is guilty of a class C felony if the person is convicted of violating AS 11.41.230(a)(1) or (2) and, within the preceding 10 years, has been convicted on two or more separate occasions of certain listed crimes. 
Alaska Statute 11.41.220(c) provides that, when considering whether a conviction has occurred in the preceding 10 years, the date that sentence is imposed is the date that a previous conviction has occurred.
In Ross v. State, 950 P.2d 587 (Alaska App. 1997), the court of appeals concluded that the existence of prior convictions is an element of the crime of felony DWI, and not merely a factor that enhances the sentence.  In Ostlund v. State, 51 P.3d 938 (Alaska App. 2002), the court held that the trial court shall bifurcate determination of previous DWI convictions, unless the trial judge determines they are relevant for a purpose other than to establish that the offense is a felony, and they are admissible under Evidence Rule 403. For this reason, a separate instruction on the determination of prior convictions has been drafted. If the trial court rules that the prior convictions are admissible at trial, then the separate instruction would not be used and would instead be incorporated into this instruction.

