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, the defendant in this case, has been charged with the crime of custodial interference in the first degree.

To prove that the defendant committed this crime, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following elements:

(1)
the defendant was a relative of [a child under 18 years of age] [an incompetent person];

(2)
the defendant took, enticed, or kept that [child] [incompetent person] from a lawful custodian;

(3)
the defendant had no legal right to do so;

(4)
the defendant knew [he] [she] had no legal right to do so; 

(5)
the defendant intended to hold the [child] [incompetent person] for a protracted period; and

(6)
the defendant caused the [child] [incompetent person] to either be removed from the state or kept outside the state.
USE NOTE

The following terms are defined in other instructions:



"incompetent person" - 11.81.900(b)



"intentionally" – 11.81.900(a)

"knowingly" – 11.81.900(a)



"lawful custodian" - 11.41.370(1)



"relative" - 11.41.370(2)

Element Three is not included in the statutory language of this offense.  This element was added to the instruction based on Strother v. State, 891 P.2d 214 (Alaska App. 1995), where the court found that the statute "implicitly requires proof that the defendant's taking, enticing, or keeping of the child was itself unlawful."  The court went on to hold that the "actus reus of the crime is the act of taking, enticing, or keeping a child from a lawful custodian with 'no legal right to do so'."  Id. at 223.

Strother also points out the difficulties of applying this statute to cases involving joint custodians who retain equal rights to the physical custody of a child.  The court held that the custodial interference statutes prohibit a joint custodian from taking exclusive physical custody of a child "in a manner that defeats the rights of the other joint custodian."  Id. at 223.  The court concluded that in such cases the the prohibited conduct was "keeping" the child with "no legal right to do so."  Id. at 225.  In cases involving joint custodians, the elements should be modified in accordance with Strother.

Cornwall v. State, 915 P.2d 614 (Alaska App. 1996), contrasted mistake of law, which is not a defense, to the defendant’s right to put on evidence of attorney’s advice offered to negate the culpable mental state of "knowing she had no legal right."

See Gerlach v. State, 699 P.2d 358 (Alaska App. 1985), for discussion of the term "protracted period." 

A necessity defense (AS 11.81.320) is not available if the shorter of the following two time periods has passed: (1) 24 hours; or (2) the time necessary to report to a peace officer or social service agency that the child or incompetent person has been abused, neglected, or is in imminent physical danger.  AS  11.41.330(b).
Use new instruction (Affirmative Defense of Necessity in Custodial Interference Prosecution) when defense of necessity (AS 11.81.320) is raised in custodial interference context, which includes additional elements described in AS 11.41.330(b)

