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The defendant has raised an affirmative defense to the charge of _____________________________.  To establish this affirmative defense, the defendant must prove that each of the following statements is more likely true than not true:

(1)
At the time of the alleged offense, the defendant reasonably believed the victim to be  

 years of age or older; and

(2)
the defendant undertook reasonable measures to verify that the victim was 

  years of age or older.

The burden is on the defendant to prove this affirmative defense.  The defendant does not have to prove this affirmative defense beyond a reasonable doubt.  Rather, the burden is on the defendant to prove this affirmative defense by a preponderance of the evidence, which is a lower standard than beyond a reasonable doubt.  Preponderance of the evidence means "more likely true than not true."

If you find that the state has proved beyond a reasonable doubt each of the elements of the crime charged in count _____ charging _____ but you also find that the defendant has proved by a preponderance of the evidence this affirmative defense, then you must find the defendant not guilty on that count.

USE NOTE

The following term is defined in other instructions:



"victim" – 11.41.470(7).

Under AS 11.41.445(b), this affirmative defense only applies to prosecutions under AS 11.41.410 — 11.41.440 when a provision of law defining an offense depends upon a victim's being under a certain age.

The statute, AS 11.41.445(b), includes the phrase "unless the victim was under 13 years of age at the time of the alleged offense."  This phrase is omitted from this instruction based on State v. Fremgen, 889 P.2d 1083 (Alaska App. 1995).  In Fremgen, the Alaska Court of Appeals held that not allowing an affirmative defense when the victim is under 13 years of age violates a defendant's due process rights under the Alaska Constitution.

"Affirmative defense" is defined in AS 11.81.900(b).
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