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, the defendant in this case, has been charged with the crime of contributing to the delinquency of a minor.

To prove that the defendant committed this crime, the state must prove beyond a reasonable doubt each of the following elements:

(1)
the defendant knowingly aided, induced, caused, or encouraged [initials of child] to be absent  from the custody of a [parent] [guardian] [custodian] without the permission or knowledge of the [parent] [guardian] [custodian];  

(2)
at the time the defendant was [19 years of age or older] [under 19 years of age and had the disabilities of minority lawfully removed for general purposes];

(3)
at the time [initials of child] was under 18 years of age; and
(4)
the defendant recklessly disregarded the fact that [initials of child] was under 18 years of age. 

USE NOTE
The following terms are defined in other instructions:



"knowingly" – 11.81.900(a)(2)


"recklessly" - 11.81.900(a)(3)

Alaska Statute 11.51.130(a)(4) is not applicable if  a child under 18 years of age has had his or her disabilities of minority removed or if a defendant has immunity under AS 47.10.350 or AS 47.10.398(a).  Instructions on these "exceptions" are only necessary if the defendant raises the issue and some evidence supports it. Trout v. State, 866 P.2d 1323, 1325 (Alaska App. 1994).  Trout did not decide which party should bear the burden of proof on exceptions.
Alaska Statute 11.51.130 does not specify a mental state with regard to defendant's knowledge of the age of the minor, therefore it must be established that the defendant acted at least recklessly. Senate Journal Supp. No. 47, at 66-67 (June 12, 1978).   
Affirmative defense: 11.51.130(a)(4).


