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IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA 

ORDER NO. 1370 

Amending Alaska Rule of Professional 
Conduct 1.4 concerning communication. 

IT IS ORDERED that Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 1.4 is amended to read as follows: 

Rule 1.4 Communication. 

* * * * 

( c) A lawyer shall inform an existing client in writing if 

the lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least $100,000 

per daiJR~ claim and $300,000 ~ annual aggregate and shall 

inform the client in writing at any time the lawyer's malpractice 

insurance drops below these amounts or the lawyer's malpractice 

insurance is terminated. A lawyer shall maintain a record of these 

disclosures for six years from the termination of the client's 

representation. 

ALASKA COMMENT 

Subsection (c) does not apply to lawyers m government 

practice or lawyers employed as in-house counsel. 

Lawyers may use the following language in making the 

disclosures required by this rule: 
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(1) no insurance: "Alaska Rule of Professional Conduct 

1.4( c) requires that you, as the client, be informed in writing if a 

lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least $100,000 per 

dai~a.at claim and $300,000 ~ annual aggregate and if, at any 

time, a lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below these amounts or 

a lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is terminated. You are 

therefore advised that (name of attorney or firm) does not have 

malpractice insurance coverage of at least $100,000 per ~lai~ant 

claim and $300,000 ~annual aggregate." 

• (2) insurance below amounts: "Alaska Rule of 

Professional Conduct 1.4( c) requires that you, as the client, be 

informed in writing if a lawyer does not have malpractice insurance 

of at least $100,000 per dai~ant claim and $300,000 ~ annual 

aggregate and if, at any time, a lawyer's malpractice insurance drops 

below these amounts or a lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is 

terminated. You are therefore advised that (name of attorney or 

firm)'s malpractice insurance has dropped below at least $100,000 

per dai~ant claim and $300,000 ~annual aggregate." 

(3) insurance terminated: "Alaska Rule of Professional 

• Conduct 1.4( c) requires that you, as the client, be informed in 

writing if a lawyer does not have malpractice insurance of at least 
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• $100,000 per daii;i;;i.aat claim and $300,000 ~ annual aggregate 

and if, at any time, a lawyer's malpractice insurance drops below 

these amounts or a lawyer's malpractice insurance coverage is 

terminated. You are therefore advised that (name of attorney or 

firm)'s malpractice insurance has been terminated." 

COMMENT 

* * * * 

• DATED: September 2, 1999 

EFFECTIVE DATE: April.15, 2000 

Isl 
Chief Justice Matthews 

Isl 
Justice Eastaugh 

Isl 
Justice Fabe 

Isl 
Justice Bryner 

• Isl 
Justice Carpeneti 




