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IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA 

ORDER NO. 1478 

IT IS ORDERED: 

Amending Alaska Bar Rule 29 
concerning reinstatement. 

I. Alaska Bar Rule 29 is amended to read as follows: 

Rule 29. Reinstatement. 

(a) Order of Reinstatement. An attorney who has 

been disbarred or suspended may not resume practice 

until reinstated by order of the Court. Interim suspension 

will end only in accordance with Rule 26. 

(b) Petitions for Reinstatement. An attorney who 

seeks reinstatement will file a verified petition for 

reinstatement with the Court, with a copy served upon the 

Director. In the petition, the attorney shall 

(1) state that (s)he has met the terms and conditions 

of the order imposing suspension or disbarment; 

(2) state the names and addresses of all his or her 

employers during the period of suspension or disbarment; 

(3) describe the scope and content of the work 

performed by the attorney for each such employer; 

( 4) provide the names and addresses of at least three 

character witnesses who had knowledge concerning the 

activities of the suspended or disbarred attorney during 

the period of his or her suspension or disbarment; and 
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(5) state the date upon which the suspended or 

disbarred attorney seeks reinstatement. An attorney who 

has been disbarred by order of the Court may not be 

reinstated until the expiration of at least five years from .the 

effective date of the disbarment. 

Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, an attorney 

who has been denied reinstatement by the Court from 

disbarment or suspension may not file a petition for 

reinstatement until the expiration of at least two years from 

the effective date of the Court's most recent order denying 

reinstatement. 

(c) Reinstatement Proceedings. Petitioners who 

have been suspended for two years or less will be 

automatically reinstated by the Court unless Bar Counsel 

files an opposition to automatic reinstatement pursuant to 

Section (d) of this Rule. 

Proceedings for attorneys who have been disbarred 

or suspended for more than two years will be conducted 

as follows: 

(1) upon receipt of the petition for reinstatement, the 

Director will refer the petition to a Hearing Committee in 

the jurisdiction in which the Petitioner maintained an office 

at the time of his or her misconduct; the Hearing 

Committee will promptly schedule a hearing; at the 

hearing, the Petitioner will have the burden of 

demonstrating by clear and convincing evidence that (s)he 

has the moral qualifications, competency, and knowledge 

of law required for admission to the practice of law in this 
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State and that his or her resumption of the practice of law 

in the State will not be detrimental to the integrity and 

standing of the Bar, or to the administration of justice, or 

subversive of the public interest; within 30 days of the 

conclusion of the hearing, the Hearing Committee will 

issue a report setting forth its findings of fact, conclusions 

of law, and recommendation; the Committee will serve a 

copy of the report upon Petitioner and "Bar Counsel, and 

transmit it, together with the record of the hearing, to the 

Board; any appellate action will be subject to the 

appellate procedures set forth in Rule 25; 

(2} at its next scheduled meeting at least 30 days 

after receipt of the Hearing Committee's report, the Board 

will review the report and the record; the Board will file its 

findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendation 

with the Court, together with the record and the Hearing 

Committee report; the petition will be placed upon the 

calendar of the Court for acceptance or rejection of the 

Board's recommendation; 

(3} in all proceedings concerning a petition for 

reinstatement, Bar Counsel may cross-examine the 

Petitioner's witnesses and submit evidence in opposition 

to the petition; and 

(4) the retaking and passing of Alaska's general 

applicant bar examination will be conclusive evidence that 

the Petitioner possesses the knowledge of law necessary 

for reinstatement to the practice of law in Alaska, as 

required under Section (b}(1) of this. Rule . 
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( d) Oppositions to Automatic Reinstatement. 

Within 10 days after the Respondent files a petition for 

reinstatement after a period of suspension of one year or 

less, or within 30 days after the Respondent files a petition 

for reinstatement after a period of suspension of more 

than one year, Bar Counsel may file an opposition to 

automatic reinstatement with the Court and serve a copy 

upon the Board and the Petitioner. The opposition to 

automatic reinstatement will state the basis for the original 

suspension, the ending date of the suspension, and the 

facts which Bar Counsel believes demonstrate that the 

petitioner should not be reinstated. Upon receipt by the 

Director of a copy of the opposition to automatic 

reinstatement, reinstatement proceedings will be initiated 

in accordance with procedures outlined in Section (c)(1 )­

( 4) of this Rule. 

(e) Expenses. The Court may direct that the 

necessary expenses incurred in the investigation and 

processing of any petition for reinstatement be paid by the 

disbarred or suspended attorney. 

(f) Bar Payment of Membership Fees. Prior to 

reinstatement, the disbarred or suspended attorney must 

pay to the Bar, in cash or by certified check, the full active 

membership fees due and owing the Association for the 

year in which reinstated . 
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Chief Justice Fabe 

Vt/~.-<.~-
Justice Carpeneti 




