## IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA ORDER NO. 1652

Amending Alaska Bar Rule 3, Section (6) concerning the deadline for reapplication for bar examination;

amending Alaska Bar Rule 5, Section 1(b) concerning admission requirements; and

amending Alaska Bar Rule 61 concerning suspension petitions and name change of Child Support Services Division.

## IT IS ORDERED:

1. Alaska Bar Rule 3, Section (6) is amended to read as follows:

## Rule 3. Applications

\* \* \* \*

**Section 6.** An applicant who has failed to pass a bar examination required by Rule 2 may reapply for admission to take a subsequent bar examination.

Reapplications shall be made by filing a reapplication form as required by the Board by January 15 for the February bar examination and by July 1 June 15 for the July bar examination.

Applicants for reexamination shall be required to pay the reapplication fee fixed by the Board. An applicant who does not comply with this Section must reapply pursuant to Sections 1 through 5 this Rule.

Supreme Court Order No. 1652 Page 2 of 5

Effective Date: October 15, 2007

2. Alaska Bar Rule 5, Section 1(b) is amended to read as follows:

## Rule 5. Requirements for Admission to the Practice of Law.

**Section 1.** (a) To be admitted to the practice of law in Alaska, an applicant must

- (1) pass the bar examination prescribed pursuant to Rule 4 or be excused from taking the bar examination under Rule 2, Section 2;
- (2) pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination by obtaining a scaled score of 80;
- (3) be found by the Board to meet the standard of character and fitness, as required pursuant to Rule 2(1)(d);
- (4) be determined by the Board to be eligible in all other respects;
- (5) pay prorated active membership dues for the balance of the year in which he or she is admitted, computed from the first day of admission;
- (6) attend a presentation on attorney ethics as prescribed by the Board prior to taking the oath prescribed in Section 3 of this rule;
- (7) file an affidavit as required by Bar Rule 64 stating that the applicant has read and is familiar with the Alaska Rules of Professional Conduct; and
  - (8) take the oath prescribed in Section 3 of this rule.
- (b) Within 60 days after completion of the requirements stated in subparagraphs (a)(1), (2), and (6), and (7) of Section 1 of this Rule, an applicant must file with the Alaska Bar Association the

Supreme Court Order No. 1652 Page 3 of 5

Effective Date: October 15, 2007

forms provided by the Board, formally accepting membership in the Association and admission to the practice of law in Alaska.

\* \* \* \*

- Alaska Bar Rule 61 is amended to read as follows:
  - Rule 61. Suspension for Nonpayment of Alaska Bar Membership Fees, Fee Arbitration Awards, and Child Support Obligation.
  - (a) Any member failing to pay any fees within 30 days after they become due shall be notified in writing by certified or registered mail that the Executive Director shall, on April 1, petition a Justice of the Supreme Court of Alaska for an order suspending such member for nonpayment of fees.

\* \* \* \*

- (d) Suspension for Nonpayment of Child Support Obligation.
- (1) If notified by the Child Support Enforcement Services
  Division than any member is not in substantial compliance with
  his or her child support order or a payment schedule negotiated
  with the Child Support Enforcement Services Division, the
  Executive Director shall serve such notice on the member.
- (2) If the Executive Director has not received a release from the Child Support EnforcementServices Division, or notice of a court order staying suspension, within 150 days of the mailing or personal service of the notice described in (1) of this paragraph, the Executive Director shall petition the Supreme Court of Alaska for an order suspending such member for substantial noncompliance with his or her child support order or payment agreement negotiated with the Child Support Enforcement Services Division. Upon suspension of the member for this

Supreme Court Order No. 1652 Page 4 of 5

Effective Date: October 15, 2007

reason, the member shall not be reinstated until the Child Support Enforcement-Services Division issues a release to the Executive director and the Executive Director has certified to the Supreme Court and the clerks of court that a release have been issued by the Child Support EnforcementServices Division.

DATED: June 26, 2007

EFFECTIVE DATE: October 15, 2007

/s/
Chief Justice Fabe
/s/
Justice Matthews
<u>/s/</u>
Justice Eastaugh
<u>/s/</u>
Justice Bryner
<u>/s/</u>
Justice Carpeneti