## THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

ORDER NO. 343

Amending Alaska Bar Rule 61, Relating to Suspension of Bar Members for Nonpayment of Bar Membership Fees.

IT IS ORDERED:

Rule 61, Alaska Bar Rules, is amended to read as follows:

Rule 61. Suspension for Nonpayment of Alaska Bar Membership Fees.

(a) Any member failing to pay any fees within 30 days after they become due shall be notified in writing by certified or registered mail that the executive director shall, on April 1, petition a justice of the supreme court of Alaska for an order suspending such member for nonpayment of fees.

(b) The executive director shall annually notify the clerks of court of the names and date of suspension of all members who have been then or previously suspended and not reinstated.

(1) Any member who has been suspended for less than one year, upon payment of all accrued dues, in addition to a penalty of \$20.00 per month of delinquency but not exceeding a total of \$160.00 in penalties shall be reinstated upon certification by the executive director to the supreme court and the clerks of court that the dues and penalties have been paid.

(2) Any member who has been suspended for a year or more, upon determination of good character by the board, upon payment of all accrued dues, in addition to a penalty of \$160.00, shall be reinstated upon certification by the executive director to the supreme court and the clerks of court that the member is of good character and that the dues and penalties have been paid.

DATED: December 18, 1978

EFFECTIVE DATE: December 18, 1978

Distribution:

SC Justices Sup/Ct Judges Dist/Ct Judges Magistrates Mag/Supr Clks/Ct Law Librarian Probate Masters Adm Dir All Members ABA Gov Dep/Law Legs/Affrs Pub Def Agency Dep/Pub Safety Ak. Legal Services Com. & Reg. Affrs State Library Superior Court Law Clerks

Chief Instice

Justice Justice

al