THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

ORDER NO. 347

Amending Alaska Bar Rule 2, Relating to Eligibility to Take Bar Examination.

IT IS ORDERED:

- Rule 2, Alaska Bar Rules, is amended to read:
- Rule 2. Eligibility for Examination.
 - Section 1. Every applicant for examination shall
- (a) File an application in a form prescribed by the Board and produce and file the evidence and documents prescribed by the Board in proof of eligibility for examination;
- (b) Be a graduate of a law school which was accredited or approved by the Council of Legal Education of the American Bar Association or the Association of American Law Schools when the applicant entered or graduated or submit proof that the law course required for graduation from such a law school will be completed and that a degree will be received as a matter of course before the date of examination. Graduates of law schools in which the principles of English Common Law are taught but which are located outside the United States and beyond the jurisdiction of the American Bar Association and the Association of American Law Schools, may qualify for examination upon proof that the foreign law school from which they graduated meets the American Bar Association Council of Legal Education Standards for approval;
 - (c) Have attained the age of 19 years;
 - (d) Be of good moral character;
- (e) Establish domicile in the State of Alaska at least 30 days prior to the first day upon which the bar examination is to be given. Domicile may be shown for purposes of taking the bar examination by physcial presence in Alaska for the 30 day period prior to the first day of the examination.
- Section 2. An applicant who meets the requirements (a) through (e) of Section 1 of this rule and
- (a) Has passed a written examination required by another state, territory or the District of Columbia for admission to the practice of law, and
- (b) Has engaged as a licensed attorney in the active practice of law in one or more states, territories or the District of Columbia for five of the seven years immediately preceding the date of his first or subsequent applications for admission to the practice of law,

may on the date of filing the application request examination as an attorney applicant. An applicant qualified for examination as an attorney applicant shall be required to pass the attorney bar examination prescribed by the Board.

Section 3. An applicant who meets the requirements of (a) and (c) through (e) of Section 1 of this rule may qualify for admission if an application is filed on or before June 8, 1977 and the applicant:

- (a) Is admitted to practice and is an attorney in good standing in the bar of another state;
- (b) Graduated from law school after June 8, 1973 and was not eligible to apply for admission to practice in Alaska prior to that date;
- (c) Enrolled in law school prior to June 8, 1973 with the intent to apply for admission to practice law in Alaska and in reliance on the Alaska admission rules in effect prior to the approval of this rule.

DATED: December 18, 1978

EFFECTIVE DATE: April 1, 1979

thief Justice

Justice

Hobert Soveling

Justice

Justice

Wanen WW all
Justice

Distribution:

SC Justices Sup/Ct Judges Dist/Ct Judges Magistrates Mag/Supr Clks/Ct Law Librarian Probate Masters Adm Dir All Members ABA Gov Dep/Law Legs/Affrs Pub Def Agency Dep/Pub Safety Ak. Legal Serv. Com. & Reg. Affrs State Library Superior Ct. Law Clerks