## THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA ORDER NO. 405

Amending Alaska Bar Rule 15, Subsection (a) To Provide For Appointment and Term of Members of Hearing Committees.

## IT IS ORDERED:

Alaska Bar Rule 15, subsection (a) is amended as follows:

(a) Members of Hearing Committees shall be appointed by the President, subject to ratification by the Board. The term of any member serving as of January 1, 1980 shall be extended to the 30th day of June next following the date on which his or her term would otherwise have expired; thereafter all terms of members shall commence on July 1 of the year in which the appointment is made. Each Hearing Committee shall consist of six members of the Alaska Bar Association, each of whom maintains an office for the practice of law within the disciplinary area for which he or she is appointed, and three non-attorney members, each of whom resides in the disciplinary area for which he or she is appointed, is a United States citizen (at least 25 years of age), and is a resident of the State of Alaska. Initially the appointment of two attorney members and one non-attorney member shall be for a one year term, the appointment of two of the attorney members and one non-attorney member shall be for a two year term and the appointment of two attorney members and one non-attorney member shall be for a three year term. Thereafter each appointment shall be for a three year term. No member shall serve for more than two consecutive terms. A member whose term has expired shall continue to serve until the conclusion of any formal hearing commenced prior to the expiration of his or her term, but such continued service shall not prevent immediate appointment of his or her successor. A member who has served two consecutive terms may be reappointed after the expiration of one year. Any Hearing Committee

member who fails to attend two consecutive hearings of the Hearing Committee shall be removed by the President who shall appoint a replacement attorney or non-attorney member, as the case may be, to fill the balance of the term of such member so removed. The President of the Association shall designate one of the non-attorney members of each Hearing Committee as the regular member; the other non-attorney members shall be alternate members. No non-attorney member shall serve as regular member for more than one year of the term for which he or she has been appointed to a Hearing Committee. The President shall appoint the Chairperson of the Hearing Committee, who shall act as Chairperson for one year. The Chairperson may be reappointed to successive one year terms.

DATED: April 9, 1980

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 1980, Nunc pro

tune.

Chief Justice

Distribution:

SC Justices Sup/Ct Judges Dist/Ct Judges Magistrates Mag/Supr Adm Dir Clks/Ct Law Librarian Masters Gov Dep/Law Legs/Affrs Pub Def Agency Dep/Pub Safety Com & Reg Affrs State Library Sup/Ct Law Clerks All Members ABA

Alaska Legal Services

Justice

Justice

Thetice

nstice