IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

ORDER NO. 466

Four-Part Order Amending Rules 2, 46, 59 and 61 of the Alaska Bar Rules.

IT IS ORDERED:

- 1. Paragraph (e) of Section 1 of Rule 2, Rules of the Alaska Bar Association, is deleted. Section 2 of Rule 2, Rules of the Alaska Bar Association, is amended to read:
 - Section 2. An applicant who meets the requirements (a) through [e](d) of Section 1 of this rule and
 - (a) has passed a written examination required by another state, territory or District of Columbia for admission to the practice of law, and
 - (b) has engaged as a licensed attorney in the active practice of law in one or more states, territories or the District of Columbia for five of the seven years immediatley preceding the date of his first or subsequent applications for admission to the practice of law, may on the date of filing the application request examination as an attorney applicant. An applicant qualified for examination as an attorney applicant shall be required to pass the attorney bar examination prescribed by the Board.
- 2. Rule 46, Rules of the Alaska Bar Association, is amended by adding new paragraph (d) to read:
 - (d) The form shall include in its body the pro tanto assignment from the applicant to the Alaska Bar Association of the applicant's right against the named lawyer, or his personal representative, his estate or assigns, as required by Alaska Bar Rule 55.

State Library

Superior Ct. Law Clerks All members of ABA Alaska Legal Services

3. Rule 59, Rules of the Alaska Bar Association, is amended to read:

Except where otherwise specifically provided in this part, Rules [15] $\underline{14}$ and 18 shall be applicable to this part; and in such cases the reference to "disciplinary proceedings" shall encompass client security fund proceedings, and the reference to "members of hearing committees" shall apply to the Client Security Fund Committee.

- 4. Subparagraph (1) of paragraph (b) of Rule 61, Rules of the Alaska Bar Association, is amended to read:
 - (1) Any member who has been suspended for less than one year, upon payment of all accrued dues, in addition to a penalty of [\$20.00 PER MONTH OF DELINQUENCY] \$5.00 per week of delinquency (each portion of a week to be considered a whole week), but not exceeding a total of \$160.00 in penalties, shall be reinstated upon certification by the Executive Director to the Supreme Court and the clerks of court that dues and penalties have been paid.

May 7, 1981 DATED: EFFECTIVE DATE: June 1. 1981 /s/ Jay A. Rabinowitz Chief Justice /s/ Roger G. Connor Justice /s/ Edmond W. Burke Justice Distribution: Supreme Court Justices Court of Appeals Judges Superior Court Judges /s/ Warren W. Matthews Justice Magistrates Mag. Super Admin Director Area Ct. Admin Clerks of Court /s/ Allen T. Compton Law Librarian Justice Masters Governor Dept. of Law Legislative Affairs Public Defender Agency Dept. of Public Safety Comm. and Reg. Affairs