IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

ORDER NO. 609

Order Amending Rule 5 of the Alaska Bar Rules.

IT IS ORDERED:

....

Section 1 of Alaska Bar Rule 5 is amended to read:

Section 1. (a) To be admitted to the practice of law in Alaska, an applicant must

 pass the bar examination prescribed pursuant to Rule 4;

(2) pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination;

(3) be found by the Board to be of good moral character, as required pursuant to Rule 2(1)(d);

(4) be determined by the Board to be eligible in all other respects;

(5) pay prorated active membership fees for the balance of the year in which he or she is admitted, computed from the first day of admission; and

(6) take the oath prescribed in Section 3 of this rule.

(b) Within 60 days after receipt of notice of passage of the bar examination and certification to the Supreme Court for admission, or within 60 days of receipt of notice of passage of the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination, whichever comes later, an applicant must file with the Alaska Bar Association a registration card, in the form provided by the Board, formally accepting membership in the Association and admission to the practice of law in Alaska.

(c) The Board may conduct a character investigation of an applicant, or may continue such an investigation, after the applicant has been permitted to take, or has passed, the examination prescribed by the Board pursuant to Rule 4. The fact that _the Board has permitted the applicant to take the examination, and has given the applicant notice that he or she has passed the examination, shall not thereafter preclude the Board from denying the admission of the applicant on the grounds of lack of good moral character. Supreme Court Order No. <u>609</u> Page Two Dated: <u>November 13, 1984</u>

DATED: November 13, 1984

EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 1985

- - ' /-

Ch i/ C Justice Burke

ā h Just Mat

my Justice Compton ton

Justice Moore