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IN THE SUPREME COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA 

ORDER NO. _6~6~5~~ 

Amendment to Alaska Bar Rule 
29, Part II of the Rules of 
Disciplinary Enforcement 

IT IS ORDERED: 

1. Alaska Bar Rule 29 is amended to read as follows: 

(a) Order of Reinstatement. An attorney who has been 

disbarred or suspended·may not resume practice until reinstated 

by order of the Court. Interm suspension will end only in 

accordance with Rule 26. 

(b) Petitions for Reinstatement. An attorney who seeks 

reinstatement will, 60 days prior to the ending date of the 

suspension, or 60 days prior to the date on which (s)he seeks 

reinstatement, whichever comes later, file a verified petition 

for reinstatement with the Court, with a copy served upon the 

Director. In the petition, the attorney will 

(1) state that (s)he has met the terms and conditions 

of the order imposing suspension or disbarment; 

(2) state the names and addresses of all his or her 

employers during the period of suspension or disbarment; 

(3) describe the scope and content of the work 

performed by the attorney for each such employer; 

(4) provide the names and addresses of at least three 

character witnesses who had knowledge concerning the activites 

of the suspended or disbarred attorney during the period of his 

or her suspension or disbarment; and 

(5) state the date upon which the suspensed or 

disbarred attorney seeks reinstatement. , 

An attorney who has been disbarred by order of the Court may 

not be reinstated until the expiration of at least five years 

from the effective date of the disbarment. 

(c) Reinstatement Proceedings. Petitioners who have been 

suspended for one year or less will be automatically reinstated 

by the Court unless Discipline counsel files an opposition to 

automatic reinstatement pursuant to Section (d) of this Rule. 
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Proceedings for attorneys who have been disbarred or 

suspended for more than one year will be conducted as follows: 

(1) upon receipt of the petition for reinstatement, the 

Director will refer the petition to a Hearing Committee in the 

jurisdiction in which the Petitioner maintained an office at the 

time of his or her misconduct; the Hearing Committee will 

promptly schedule a hearing to take place within 30 days of the 

filing of the petition; at the hearing, the Petitioner will have 

the burden of demonstrating that (s)he has the moral 

qualifications, competency, and knowledge of law required for 

admission to the practice of law in this State and that his or 

her resumption of the practice of law in within the State will 

not be detrimental to the integrity and standing of the Bar, or 

to the administration of justice, or subversive of the public 

interest; within 30 days of the conclusion of the hearing, the 

Hearing committee will issue a report setting forth its findings 

of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendation; the Committee 

will serve a copy of the report upon Petitioner and Discipline 

counsel, and transmit it, together with the record of the 

hearing, to the Board; any appellate action will be subject to 

the appellate procedures set forth in Rule 25; 

(2) within 45 days of its receipt of the Hearing 

committee's report, the Board will review the report and the 

record; the Board will file its findings of fact, conclusions of 

law, and recommendation with the court, together with the record 

and the Hearing Committee report; the petition will be placed 

upon the calendar of the Court for acceptance or rejection of 

the Board's recommendation within 60 days after receipt by the 

court of the Board's recommendation; 

(3) in all proceedings concerning a petition for 

reinstatement, Discipline Counsel may cross-examine the 

Petitioner's witnesses and submit evidence in opposition to the 

petition; and 

(4) the retaking and passing of Alaska's general 

applicant bar examination will be conclusive evidence that the 

Petitioner possesses the knowledge of law necessary for 

reinstatement to the practice of law in Alaska, as required 

under Section (b)(l) of this Rule. 
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(d) Oppositions to Automatic Reinstatement. Within 10 days 

after the Respondent files a petition for reinstatement, 

Discipline Counsel may file an opposition to automatic 

reinstatement with the Court and serve a copy upon the Board and 

the, Petitioner. The opposition to automatic reinstatement will 

state the basis for the original suspension, the ending date of 

the suspension, and the facts which Discipline Counsel believes 

demonstrate that the petitioner should not be reinstated. 

Upon receipt by the Director of a copy of the 

opposition to automatic reinstatement, reinstatement proceedings 

will be initiated in accordance with procedures outlined in 

section (c)(l)~{4) of this Rule. 

(e) Expenses. The Court may direct that the necessary 

expenses incurred in the investigation and processing of any 

petition for reinstatement be paid by the disbarred or suspended 

attorney. 

(f) Bar Payment of Membership Fees. Prior to reinstatement, 

the disbarred or suspended attorney must pay to the Bar, in cash 

or by certified check, the full active membership fees due and 

owing the Association for the year in which reinstated. 
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